The Plymouth Fury is a model of automobile which was produced by Plymouth from 1955 to 1989. It was introduced for the 1956 model year as a sub-series of the Plymouth Belvedere, becoming a separate series one level above the contemporary Belvedere for 1959.

The Fury was a full-size car from 1959 to 1961, then a mid-size car from 1962 to 1964, again, a full-size car from 1965 to 1974, and again, a mid-size car from 1975 to 1978.

From 1975 to 1977, the Fury was sold alongside the full-size Plymouth Gran Fury. In 1978, the B-body Fury was the largest Plymouth, and by 1979, there was no large Plymouth. This was rectified in 1980 with the R-body Gran Fury, followed by the M-body Fury in 1982.

Production of the last V8, RWD Plymouth Fury ended at Kenosha, WI, on December 23, 1988. Unlike its sibling brand, Dodge, Plymouth would not live to see the resurgence of the large, V8/RWD sedan.

The 1960 models were the first year for unibody construction, the first year for Chrysler's ram induction system, and the first year for Chrysler's new slant-six engine. The original 318 and 383 were available, along with a 361. The 225 cu in (3.69 L) slant-six produced 145 hp (108 kW) at 4,000 rpm. The 383 produced 330 hp (250 kW).

The styling for the 1960 model year had been formulated in 1957 during the height of tailfin era, but they fell from fashion.[7] While Chevrolet and Ford sales increased during 1960, Plymouth barely continued its 1959 volume.

Tailfins were removed for 1961.

The Fury remained Plymouth's leading sales volume model through the early 1960s.

Pin It

Angra do Heroísmo


Ilha Terceira



Notícias Regionais


Outras Notícias